Dreamgirls is Coming to the Music Hall June 30th

You loved the movie Dreamgirls, with the all-star cast including Beyonce, Eddie Murphy, Jaime Foxx and the Academy Award winning performance of Jennifer Hudson. With  toe-tapping songs like ‘Move‘, Cadillac Car and the title song Dreamgirls and rousing choreography by Michael  Bennett and Michael Peters, the movie won two Academy Awards, five Golden Globes, and two Screen Actor’s Guild Award.  in addition to a Grammy Award for Best Song written for a Motion Picture (“Love You I Do”). But nothing compares to seeing the show live on stage. Now you can see the Dreamgirls perform for you in Dallas.

Full of onstage joy and backstage drama, Dreamgirls tells the story of an up-and-coming, 1960s singing girl group, and all of the triumphs and tribulations that come with fame and fortune. Hopeful talents Deena Jones, Lorrell Robinson and Effie White are performing as The Dreamettes when ambitious agent Curtis Taylor, Jr. discovers them. He lands them a job as backup singers for the soul and rock ‘n’ roll sensation James “Thunder” Early and begins to guide their rising career. However, when the beautiful Deena emerges as the star of the group rather than the full-voiced Effie, the girls are brought to personal and professional crossroads.

Dreamgirls, introduces Moya Angela as Effie White and feature, as The Dreams, Syesha Mercado as Deena Jones, Adrienne Warren as Lorrell Robinson, and Margaret Hoffman as Michelle Morris with Chaz Lamar Shepherd as Curtis Taylor, Jr., Chester Gregory is James “Thunder” Early, Trevon Davis as C.C. White, Milton Craig Nealy as Marty Madison in a cast of 26 that also features Tallia Brinson, Felicia Boswell, Ronald Duncan, Patrice Covington, Talitha Farrow, Brittney Griffin, James Harkness, Robert Hartwell, Eric Jackson, Chauncey Jenkins, Jared Joseph, Nikki Kimbrough, Brittany Lewis, Douglas Lyons, Kimberly Marable, Jarran Muse, Amaker Smith and Marc Spaulding.

Tickets for the smash hit musical Dreamgirls are on sale now. Ticket prices range from $20 to $85 and will be available at The Box Office, 542 Preston Royal Shopping Center, all Ticketmaster outlets, by visiting http://www.ticketmaster.com or by calling 214-631-ARTS (2787). Group orders of 15 or more may be placed by calling 214-426-GROUP.  Dreamgirls will play June 30 through July 18 at Music Hall at Fair Park,

Performance schedule

Wednesday, June 30 – 8 p.m.
Thursday, July 1 – 2 and 8 p.m. (Official press opening is 8 p.m. July 1)
Friday, July 2 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, July 3 – 2 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 4 – 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 6 – 8 p.m.
Wednesday, July 7 – 8 p.m.
Thursday, July 8 – 8 p.m.
Friday, July 9 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, July 10 – 2 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 11 – 2 and 8 p.m.
Tuesday, July 13 – 8 p.m.
Wednesday, July 14 – 8 p.m.
Thursday, July 15 – 2 and 8 p.m.
Friday, July 16 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, July 17 – 2 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 18 – 2 p.m. (closing performance)

For more information, please visit the official DREAMGIRLS website at www.DreamgirlsOnStage.com. For up-to-date information about DSM, please visit www.dallassummermusicals.org.